Flannel Friday: Who’s Hiding in the Woods?

I saw the Forest Animal flannel on Falling Flannelboards, and thought a version of that flannel would be perfect for my Walking Through the Woods storytime. I changed the basic flannel just a bit and made it into a sort of game. I hid one animal at a time behind the larger woods picture, and gave them the clues (see the link above).  Then we counted to three and took off the woods picture to see who was hiding underneath. The kids loved the game aspect of this flannel, and even the younger kids were able to make good (but not always correct) guesses as to the identity of the animal.

image

The animals are from Kidzclub.  The picture of the woods is clipart.

Thank you, Falling Flannelboards, for the inspiration!

 

And now a bonus, very silly, flannel, because it was still up on my board at the end of storytime today: 1 little, 2 little, 3 little animals.

image

I put various and random animals on the board, and we counted to well, 9, because animal 10 was a surprise. Then we sang 1 little, 2 little, 3 little animals.

image

Oh no, a skunk! We had just done a version of the story The Tree Stump (post coming soon), and so we knew all about skunks, and how stinky they are. Once skunk joined the other animals, it was time for them to leave, so we sang 10 little, 9 little, 8 little animals all the way back down to 1, holding our noses, of course.

The animals, with the exception of the clipart skunk, are from the envelope of generic animals I keep handy, just in case, and are from Felt Board Fingerplays by Liz and Dick Wilmes.

This week’s round up is being hosted by Andrea (thank you Andrea) at Roving Fiddlehead Kidlit.  Be sure to visit the beautiful Flannel Friday Pinterest account. So Tomorrow has past roundups and the future hosting schedule, as well.

7 thoughts on “Flannel Friday: Who’s Hiding in the Woods?

  1. I love the idea of hiding an animal one at a time behind the larger picture of the woods! I did something similar with the kids with my bugs storytime (we played Bug in a Rug), and they absolutely loved it! I just might have to add a large forest flannel piece to my flannelboard the next time I use this. Thanks for the great idea!

  2. Pingback: Flannel Friday Roundup February 3 | rovingfiddlehead kidlit

  3. I love flannel games! I think they are probably my favourite uses for flannel boards as the kids get so much fun from them. My visiting Nursery classes are doing a tropical theme at the moment, so I’m thinking I could do something similar with a jungle twist. Thanks for the idea.

  4. Pingback: Skunk clipart | Entertainment4

  5. This is a message to the webmaster. I came to your “Flannel Friday: Who&” page via Google but it was difficult to find as you were not on the first page of search results. I know you could have more traffic to your website. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your site: http://nsru.net/zaj5 I managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors from search engines than you have now. Their service brought significantly more traffic to my site. I hope this helps, happy new year!

Leave a Reply

