Flannel Friday: My favorite F word(s)

Flannel Friday is all kinds of  f-words (the good kind):

fun, free, fabulous, friendly, functional, fantastic, flannel-y, fly, fascinating, funky, famous, facebook-y, festive, fancy, fierce, and fantabulous!  Thank you to all who participate in Flannel Friday. You help make my job more of the good f-words, too.

Oh, and for this introverted storytimer Flannel Friday is one big non-f word, too: community. I have virtually (and Mel IRL, hi Mel!) met so many fabulous people through Flannel Friday. Right now I must admit I’m mostly a lurker. I’m like that kid in storytime who doesn’t say much at the library, but then goes home and sings the words to every storytime song.  As a part-timer (with two other non-library jobs) who spends almost all my work time doing storytimes and programs, I have very little time to actually spend preparing them. The Flannel Friday pinterest account is an inspirational time-saving  journey and a creative jumpstarter for this storytimer who almost never even uses felt, and the Flannel Friday Facebook page is an amazing resource on just about every aspect of programming. I have a someday goal to do more Flannel Friday posts and give back what I can to the community that helps me so much. In the meantime, thank you, Flannel Friday community for your ideas and friendship, and thank you to those who keep this fabulous flannel kingdom running efficiently.

And of course, thank you Mel, for dreaming up this fun, free, fabulous, friendly, functional, fantastic, flannel-y, fly, fascinating, funky, famous, facebook-y, festive, fancy, fierce, and fantabulous group.

7 thoughts on “Flannel Friday: My favorite F word(s)

  1. “I’m like that kid in storytime who doesn’t say much at the library, but then goes home and sings the words to every storytime song.” Those kids are my favorites because you know you are really touching them and influencing their lives, even if they can’t demonstrate it to you yet.

  2. Pingback: What Flannel Friday Means to Me: the Round-up | Rain Makes Applesauce

  3. Miss Tracey, you will always have a special spot in my heart because you were the VERY FIRST CHILDREN’S LIBRARIAN who followed me on Twitter. When you popped up out of nowhere it made me think that this weird Twitter thing might actually turn out to be useful and cool. Here we are four years later, with thousands of tweets between us, and TWO in person visits, and so much sharing together. Thanks for staying with FF through your crazy busy spells. It’s better when you’re here!

  4. I love your fun, fancy, funky, festive, fantabulous (uplifting) post! – I had to slip in that one non f-word
    It’s nice to know I’m not the only “lurker” in the crowd 🙂

  5. I love this description: “I’m like that kid in storytime who doesn’t say much at the library, but then goes home and sings the words to every storytime song.” Sometimes I feel that way, too!

Leave a Reply

