Flannel Friday: Cat’s Midsummer Jamboree

It’s a fact that summer storytimes need music even more than most, so books with musical interludes make perfect summer storytime choices. A favorite summer flannelboard of mine is based on one such musical book, Cat’s Midsummer Jamboree by David Kherdian.

It’s a simple story.  A cat who loves to sing roams the forest, strumming his mandolin while dancing and singing. He meets other musical animals who join his band, and they end up having a “jamboree in a tree” (I guarantee that just saying that phrase will make your day a little bit brighter).

I have taken a few liberties with the story.

cat  

frog on a hollow log playing a harmonica 

fox tooting his flute behind a fern 

monkey over the hill playing a violin 

duck in the pond playing a bassoon 

bear in a cave playing an accordian 

bird in a tree, banging a drum 

And there you have it.  Jamboree in a tree.

I am not sure why my flannel pieces are so simple (I made this a long time ago), but I prefer to look upon them as Americana art. Sometimes, simple is just fine.

If you don’t want to go quite so simple, it’s fun to add actual music to this story.  Have recorded examples of each instrument in the story, and be sure to play a good ol’ jamboree at the end, and do a little bit of dancing at your own jamboree in a tree.

In this case, my very real cat Jack decided to join the jamboree at the last minute.

3 thoughts on “Flannel Friday: Cat’s Midsummer Jamboree

  1. I was just thinking earlier today that I needed more songs in my storytimes this summer! It’s funny that you said that in your post. I like your simple pieces — and I’ll bet the kids do too!

  2. Pingback: Flannel Friday: 7/8 Round-Up | storytime katie

Leave a Reply

